New art in the house…ways to justify my addiction

February 9, 2008 at 6:30 pm Leave a comment

Even though the Slotin auction is going on today, and I promised myself to stay away from the flame, art still found me. Susan, Tina, and Nancy, ( last names omitted to protect the innocent) members of the folk art group “The Art Tarts”, came by my house for a tour. They left an ark in their wake. It was a great afternoon of art, wine, and stories of art adventures. Tina brought her Virgil Myers ark, complete with 70 pairs of animals, Mr. & Mrs. Noah, and the blue ribbon from Wayne City Bean Days, where this art/ark won first place.

Today, the ark docked here, and I won the prize. (ok, I bought it…)  

Which brings me to a brighter, shinier object…

Ways to justify my addiction to art…

  1. I didn’t have children – ergo, this is college tuition, braces, uniforms, etc…
  2. So, it takes a bit of my time, I don’t golf or garden…
  3. It inspires me to make my own art…
  4. I love meeting the artists, collectors and dealers to hear their stories…
  5. I use the documentation piece of it to learn more about the internet, web design, blogging, virtual marketing…etc. 
  6. A way to meet people from all walks of life, all over the world

…and most importantly…I love it.

Entry filed under: animals, artist, folk art, noah's ark, outsider art, sculpture, virgil meyers.

geeky thing #9 – learning about PURL New art in the house! Virgil Myers Ark finds a new Mt. Ararat

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

archives

flickr photos

Pages

blog stats

  • 16,029 hits

